Introduction to Puranas

Hinduism consists of a vast collection of religious texts, including the Puranas. The Puranas are a genre of ancient Hindu scriptures that contain myths, legends, genealogies, cosmology, and narratives about various deities, sages, and divine events. There are traditionally 18 major Puranas, classified into three categories based on the deity they primarily focus on: Vishnu Puranas, Shiva Puranas, and Brahma Puranas. Here is a list of the 18 major Puranas:

Vishnu Puranas:

  1. Vishnu Purana
  2. Narada Purana
  3. Garuda Purana
  4. Padma Purana
  5. Varaha Purana
  6. Vamana Purana
  7. Kurma Purana
  8. Matsya Purana

Shiva Puranas:

  1. Shiva Purana
  2. Linga Purana
  3. Skanda Purana
  4. Agni Purana
  5. Vayu Purana

Brahma Puranas:

  1. Brahma Purana
  2. Brahmanda Purana
  3. Brahma Vaivarta Purana
  4. Markandeya Purana
  5. Bhavishya Purana

It's important to note that there are also several Upa-Puranas, which are considered supplementary Puranas. These texts cover a wide range of topics and are associated with different deities or specific regions. Some examples of Upa-Puranas include the Devi Bhagavata Purana, Samba Purana, and Kapila Purana, among others.